India Aced at the Human Rights Council elections in Asia-Pacific region

Key Highlights

  • India secures 188 votes in the Asia-Pacific category.
  • It is the highest number of votes.
  • The new members will have to serve a term of minimum three years WEF 1st January 2019
  • For the 2011-2014 and 2014-2017 term, India was elected earlier to the Geneva-based Human Rights Council.

India wins election at UN feedaddy

Asia -Pacific category: India Aced the Elections

UN top human rights body selected India as the member, the following Friday. India would remain in the position for a term of three years. India has received the majority of 188 votes out of 193 members. A secret ballot used to elect the 18 new members. India acquires 188 votes whereas only 97 votes were required to win the election.

India’s Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador Syed Akbaruddin  said that the India victory and that too with such a considerable number of votes “reflects India’s standing in the international comity.”

Asia Pacific UN Election At A Glance

In the category of Asia Pacific region, India secures 188 votes followed by Fiji securing 187 votes, then Bangladesh 178, and then Bahrain and Philippines with 165 votes each.

India has attained the maximum votes amidst all the 18 nations across all five categories.

UN Human Rights Council India Tricky Truths Tricky News

The new members need to be a part of the body and serve for the welfare for a minimum of three years that starts from January 1, 2019. Earlier, India was a part of the Geneva-based Human Rights Council for the 2011-2014 and 2014-2017 term.

The last tenure elapsed on December 31, 2017, and as per the rules, India stands uneligible for the immediate re-election as it has already served for two consecutive terms.

The Assembly created the Human Rights Council in March 2006. The committee serves as the principal of the l United Nations body that deals with human rights. Also, the body of the Human Rights Council has 47 elected Member States.

India as the member

India was fighting for a seat in the Asia-Pacific category. With India, other countries include Bahrain, Bangladesh, Fiji, and the Philippines. All the five stakes a claim in the same regional group.

Considering that there were five nations for five seats in the Asia Pacific category, it was believed that all the countries would be elected.

India will join Pakistan, China, and Nepal, which are the part of the Council since last year.

At last: Narendra Modi announced the formation of a #MeToo panel

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *